Root Chakra Hatha Yoga Sequence & Philosophy

Hatha Mooladhara Chakra

Samyogah Root Chakra

Yoga Sequence:

  1. Mountain pose (Tadasana)

  2. Chair pose (Utkatasana)

  3. Forward fold w/ arms (Uttanasana)

  4. Plank (chaturanga)

  5. Cobra pose (Bhujangasana)

  6. Downward dog (Adho Mukha Shvanasana)

  7. Lunge pose (Anjaneyasana)

  8. Warrior 2 pose (virabhadrasana 2)

  9. Triangle pose (Trikonasana)

  10. Forward fold (Uttanasana)

  11. Tree pose (Vrikshasana)

  12. Yogi squat (malasana)

  13. Child’s pose (Balasana)

  14. Hero’s pose (virasana)

  15. Forehead to knee variation (Janu Sirsasana)

  16. Bound angle (Baddha Koṇāsana)

  17. Bridge pose (Setu Bandha Sarvangasana)

  18. Savasana

Philosophy Topic: 1st limb of yoga


The first limb, Yama, deals with one's ethical standards and sense of integrity, focusing on our behavior and how we conduct ourselves in life. Yamas are universal practices that relate best to what we know as the Golden Rule, "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you."

The Five Yamas

  1. Ahimsa: nonviolence

  2. Satya: truthfulness

  3. Asteya: nonstealing

  4. Brahmacharya: continence

  5. Aparigraha: non-covetousness (non-greed)

Reference: Carrico, M., (2017). Get to Know the 8 Limbs of Yoga. Retrieved from